” Batman and Jail ……on the same day ” ( Part 1)

” Batman and Jail ……on the same day ” ( Part 1)

I have been meaning to tell this story for a while….but I am still chuckling over it (3) months after it occurred. In my middle age…..I find its good to reflect on something after it has happened, sort of ” ZEN mode”….and plan accordingly.  In other words, it ain’t over till I say it’s over.

In late July, I had a few issues that were coming forward, and I requested to be put on the agenda of the Council Meeting. This was the last Council meeting before the annual summer break in August.

I would also like to mention that our property is in the ALR. Not trying to brag, but I would consider myself one of the best informed parties re: the ALR.  I may dig deeper into this issue in the future, but IMHO the ALR is a scam, a sick joke, that needs to be exposed for what it REALLY is.  However, at the present time, Richmond Council has been engaged in  sleazy underhanded attacks on ALR property owners and their rights.

I had come across an article whereby one Richmond Councillor, Harold Steves, was interviewed. Harold Steves was a member of the 1972 NDP Gov’t which created the ALR, and Steves has been often referred to as the “ALR Godfather” . In fact, it has been my experience that Steves appears to be the only person quoted by the media on ALR issues….the kneejerk  “go to” person. That already exposes a lazy media and a conflict of interest, how can he be deemed neutral and objective talking about a subjective issue he helped create ?

Regardless, Steves puts on a  persona as a  “farmer”..ie that he can make a living as a farmer with approx. 20 head of cattle. No, in fact he is a retired teacher and a career politician. ( BTW  I’ve crunched the numbers…there is no way anyone can make a living on 20 head of cattle ). 

In investigating this further, I also discovered that Steves own farm is NOT in the ALR,……. I repeat NOT in the ALR. Why not ? There are millions of acres of land that was never farmed, but placed in the ALR. Steves lives on his families long term farm , established in the 1800’s.

Back to the article noted above: In the article Steves made a claim that his farm IS in the ALR. I had previously and publically exposed that his farm is NOT in the ALR.  Why is this important ?  We are talking hypocrisy , misrepresentation and a lot of other issues…especially from such a high profile person and one elected to office.A lot of people assume his farm is in the ALR, and again, why isn’t it in the ALR

Hence, I felt he should be made accountable and I was going to make it public at the Council Meeting.

( To Be Continued )

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

